Islam Karimov Foundation

Translation of Uzbek literary works into foreign languages

The Islam Karimov Foundation aims to support and promote the rich cultural heritage of Uzbekistan through grants for translating and publishing cultural, scientific and educational materials as well as classic works of Uzbek literature.

The Foundation is currently collaborating with Uzbekistan’s Permanent Delegation to Uzbekistan to translate a true masterpiece of 20th century Uzbek literature into English and French: “Days Gone By” by Uzbek author Abdullah Qadiri.

With this novel, Qadiri laid the foundation for the Uzbek school of Romance literature; written almost a century ago, it is still considered one of Uzbekistan’s most widely-read classics.

“Days Gone By” is an Uzbek national treasure, and thanks to Qadiri’s lyrical language and gripping plot, this novel is sure to be well-received by the international readership. The new translations in English and French will enable many more to appreciate this spiritual pearl of the Uzbek nation, known for its artistic thought, time-honoured traditions, and customs.

Comments are closed.

Фонд имени Ислама Каримова

Перевод узбекской литературы на иностранные языки

Фонд имени Ислама Каримова проводит работу по поддержке и распространению богатого культурного наследия Республики Узбекистан путем предоставления грантов на осуществление переводов культурно-просветительских и научно-образовательных материалов и произведений узбекской классики на иностранные языки с их последующей публикацией.

Фонд совместно с Постоянным Представительством Узбекистана при ЮНЕСКО ведет работу по переводу романа узбекского писателя Абдуллы Кадырий “Минувшие дни” на английский и французский языки.

Это произведение, положившее начало узбекской школе романистики, поистине является шедевром узбекской литературы ХХ века. Написанный почти век назад, роман до сих пор считается одним из самых читаемых произведений узбекской классики.

Ставший в Узбекистане национальным достоянием, роман “Минувшие дни” может найти своих поклонников и среди зарубежных читателей, тем самым предоставив им возможность ознакомиться с духовной жемчужиной узбекского народа, с его высокой художественной мыслью, бесценными традициями и обычаями.

Обсуждение закрыто.